“OCD is Like Addiction”

Image courtesy of Naypong at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Naypong at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Last night we were sitting around the dinner table discussing a family friend who has had a relapse in his attempt to become clean from drugs.  We talked about how difficult it is to stay clean, what the appeal of drugs is and how addiction happens. Blake listened and participated in the conversation.  Mostly, he had a lot of questions.

As the conversation winded down, the kids cleared the table.  They contemplated the pros and cons of legalizing certain drugs and asked about their grandfather’s long struggle with drugs.  How did it begin?  Why was it so difficult to stop?  Then,  as both boys made their way to the couch to relax, Blake suddenly had a comment.

“OCD is like addiction,” he stated.

“What do you mean?” we all asked.

“Well,” he said, “every time I do a ritual, it brings me relief – for a little while.  But it never lasts very long and then I have to do it again to get the relief again.”

“Wise observation,” someone commented.

Wise observation indeed, my son.  You’ve identified the problem.  Now, what will you do with it?    These thoughts all remained silent as we all watch and wait to see if Blake can commit himself to his mental health.  All the same, it was nice to see a glimmer of realization.  Just waiting for it to spark a fire in him.

7 thoughts on ““OCD is Like Addiction”

  1. I completely agree! It’s like you know that doing the rituals in the long term is going to be bad for you, but you just can’t not complete them – mainly due to the anxiety and fear though. Seems me and your son think in the same way! 🙂

      • Really! That would mean a lot to me. I want to be ready to get better again, but sometimes I just think how to I run away from things that are inside your head? I feel like the thoughts will never leave me and that they are just getting worse.

      • Important insight about yourself and a good one to share with your therapist. While you may have OCD thoughts, you can have really excellent ways of dealing with them when they do show up. Sending hopeful thoughts your way! 🙂

      • Thank you Angie. Hopefully I might be able to pick up a few excellent ways of dealing with them! I think I might bring this up with my therapist the next time I see her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

