A Moment for Feeling Grateful

Image courtesy of graur codrin at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of graur codrin at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Five times this past week, I’ve been approached by friends or family members who follow this blog and wanted to tell me just how they are impacted by reading it.  Two of them cried as they shared their reactions.  Several times, the words were something like, “Wow!  I didn’t realize just what it is like.  I am so sorry.  I wish I could do something to make it all better.”

I found myself wanting to reach out and hug these people and comfort them.  I felt a bit awful for “making” them feel bad.  I never realized the impact my words and shared stories could have on the people who love and care about Blake and our family.  Each one assured me that they are glad to have this window into our world.  The few moments we’ve had to check in on what’s going on in our OCD experience apparently have done little justice to really helping them to understand what it is all about and now they have a way to connect in a different way than before.

Still, I feel compelled to share that our family life is not dominated by OCD.  Some days it feels that way, but that is just for the time being – and then something else moves to the forefront.  Our lives are full, rich and multi-faceted.  We have problems, as all families do – and OCD is just one of them. It happens to be one that provokes great emotion in me.

I am so grateful for this opportunity to share with our family, a few close friends and those of you in the world out there about our OCD struggle. Many times, I have felt so lonely as we’ve dealt with this disorder.  I started this blog as a way to give all these feelings, emotions and experiences a place to live that is outside of my own head.  And I hoped that someone out there might also gain or learn from it.  Writing has helped me to feel closer to those friends and family who are reading because they have a  little view inside that they didn’t have before and it gives us the opportunity to connect in a different way.

I am also grateful for those of you who I do not know personally, who take the time to read and comment on what I post.  I have received supportive comments and thoughts from many of you, and I realize that I have gotten something I never expected when I began – I have a support community.  I want you to know how grateful I am when you share your own experiences. I am grateful when you encourage me.  I am grateful when you tell me that you have a child who has been through this. And I am grateful when you tell me that you are struggling with OCD, whether because you have it or because you have a family member who has it.  And I am grateful when you tell me to keep on writing.  Thank you!

So that is it for now.  Just a moment to share that I am feeling grateful.  May your day be blessed with opportunities for gratefulness, as well.

Angie

2 thoughts on “A Moment for Feeling Grateful

Leave a Reply

