Out of the Routine

"You left me at home so you could go see 'The Hunger Games:  Catching Fire?' "
“You left me at home so you could go see ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire?’ “

Control?  Did I say yesterday that I hoped to regain control after Blake’s “Maniacal” Blog Takeover?  Well, today I have certainly not regained that, which is probably why I’m up at 11:30 at night trying to write post number 21 for the month of November and am finally letting out my poor dogs who have been indoors for too many hours.

It’s been a good kind of letting go of control, though.  Both boys got invited to an early screening of the newest “Hunger Games” installment.  It was a local teen event and all the kids brought food to contribute to a food pantry.  Blake and Michael were super excited to attend when they were first invited.  However, as the day grew nearer, Blake started to doubt that he wanted to attend.  The reason – it was going to get in the way of his prayer routine.

Tuesday evening he started to backtrack on his original excitement.  That was when he discovered how early we were going to have to leave for the event.  He started expressing his doubts that night at the dinner table.  After school today, he immediately started in with trying to get out of it.

“I just don’t know about this mom.  There’s no way I’ll be able to get in all the praying I need to do.”

“I know you’ll figure it out.”

“Did you already pay for me to go?”

“Yes, I did.”

Somehow he managed to do whatever it was he needed to do in a fraction of his normal time.  Or maybe he just didn’t do it all.  I don’t know.  Either way, we got on the road and on our way on time.  My husband and I grabbed dinner and some much needed alone time while we waited for the movie to finish.  When it was over, we saw the boys approaching with smiles on their faces.

“Wo….” Michael said.  “What a movie.”

“Wo…” Blake echoed.  “That was amazing!”  Blake rarely gives anything the “amazing” review so I’m thinking this is a pretty good endorsement for the movie.

“Was it worth going out on a Thursday evening and being out late?” I asked.

“It was so worth it!  Thank you for signing us up.” Blake responded.

So worth it, indeed.  So glad my boys had an amazing evening – and so glad Blake pushed through his ritual to have this experience.  Good night!

8 thoughts on “Out of the Routine

    1. Celebrating for sure! And the puppy – I was so exhausted last night that I almost didn’t post, but I’d already done 20 days! By the time I’d written the post, I was too tired to do anything but pull up an old pic of the puppy. When all else fails, go with the cute animal. Blake has taught me well.

Leave a Reply

