Thankful for Moms

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Okay, okay.  I should know better.  If you post on your blog that you are fine and you directly address your moms when you are doing it, you are going to get concerned phone calls from your moms.

What I am referring to is that yesterday in my post, I was writing while upset, and I made a note to both moms that I would be fine by the time that they would be reading the post.  They worry about us.  They can’t help it; they are moms.  It’s what they do.  Reading this blog has brought them closer to our family’s day-to-day struggles.  So what do they do?  They worry more.  And when you take on the challenge of posting 30 times in 30 days, they do what any mom would do.  They read your blog religiously.

Sure enough, first thing this morning, my husband’s mom was on the phone.  We commiserated, we plotted and we planned.  Then, it was my mom’s turn.  In all honesty, I phoned her, but one of the first things on her mind was the blog post.  More commiserating; more plotting and planning.  My moms are awesome.  No blaming.  No finger pointing.  Just genuine concern.  On this eve before Thanksgiving, I am so thankful for them (and for the caring and concerned guys that come with them, too! You know who you are.).

As for Blake, well, he slept until around 2 p.m. today.  Other than arranging and rearranging the dinner table before some friends came over for dinner tonight, things were rather calm with him.  Actually, he was very engaged and a really gracious host to our guests this evening, which was a nice change.  And that is something else I am thankful for tonight.

Leave a Reply

