“Ask Me Anything” with Blake: OCD Edition

Image courtesy of Ventrilock at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Ventrilock at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Hi. You know me as Blake. My mom’s been writing this blog about OCD and our family’s experience for a while now.  So for OCD Awareness Week I volunteered to do an “Ask Me Anything” post.  I’m sixteen and have known about my OCD since I was seven.  I’ve had OCD regarding contamination, scrupulosity (moral concerns), just-right OCD (needing to do something until it felt just right), and  general anxiety.  I have been through Exposure and Response Prevention therapy multiple times, as well as going to traditional talk therapy.  If you have any questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments section for me to answer.  I’ll reply until Friday.  So as the title says, ask me anything about living with OCD.

12 thoughts on ““Ask Me Anything” with Blake: OCD Edition

  1. Blake have you ever been shown or considered the 3 Stages of OCD

    Stage 1: Illness/Disorder-Though OCD leads to living a life of strict order at times, if not most or all times.
    Stage 2: Condition-How we condition OCD daily into our life.
    Stage 3: Enlightenment-Source of enlightenment to attain your Soul or Sole purpose in life.

    I have been through all 3 stages in OCD, transcending from 1 to 2 to 3.

    Stage 1: Lasted 21 years
    Stage 2: Lasted 6 months
    Stage 3: Over the last 6 months I can now see how OCD is my personal greatest gift enlightening my life to attain my souls purpose, to share my vision of OCD Globally.

    I Know, I want you, to Know also.

    Thank you Blake

    Paul McMonagle

    • Hi Paul. Thank you for writing. I’ve not been introduced to this idea. I personally have not ever felt enlightened by my OCD, more oppressed. Nonetheless, if you feel enlightened by your OCD I wish you the best in your personal path. Best wishes. – Blake

      • Thank you Blake

        I too felt oppressed from out-with myself for 21 years, until I looked within myself and started seeing my OCD from inside-out instead of outside-in.

        I will be sharing this is my forthcoming book to share my story of OCD and transcending OCD through its various stage.

        I wish for you, all you truly want from life as you journey along your personal path also Blake.

        Love

        Paul

  2. Hi Blake, Thanks for writing this post and agreeing to answer questions! I’d like to know more about YOU as you’ve already told us about your OCD. I’m wondering what you’re interested in (again, you and not your OCD) and if you have any idea what type of job/career/field of study you might like to pursue? If you don’t (which is fine of course), then do you have any hobbies or passions? It would be great to get to know you a little better :).

    • Hi Janet. Thank you for writing. I’m interested in video games and would like to become an independent video game developer. I’m a very amateur archer, as shown by the holes in our garage wall. I’m very into my religion – learning and studying about it. I enjoy history and pizza, and I love my family (most of the time!). Best wishes! – Blake

      • Hi Blake. It’s so nice of you to open yourself up to questions from us. I have a son, 11 years old, who also has OCD, as does my husband. Does anyone else in your family have it? Also, it sounds like my son is a lot like you, aside from OCD – he also wants to be a video game developer and pizza is his favourite food!

      • Hi Karyn. Thank you for writing. I do have an uncle with OCD, and my mom and dad have both struggled with different types of anxiety. Your son sounds like he has good “taste” (ba dum bum! – drum sound). Best wishes, Blake

  3. Thanks for doing a Q&A, Blake. I’m interested in whether you’ve done any ERP therapy for the scrupulosity you’ve experienced? I also have OCD, and for me, those are some of the toughest obsessions/compulsions, what has helped you in working to battle them? Thanks!

    • Hi and thanks for writing. Yes, I have had ERP for scrupulosity. I can say that because scrupulosity varies so greatly it would be hard to find one cure-all. However, if it is religious-based, talking to a trusted religious leader has helped me to break free of compulsions versus religious practice. If the scrupulosity is morally based, what helped me was when I listened to those I was trying to “help” who said it was too much (for example, saying “Thank you” too much devalued the words to my mom). Good luck! – Blake

  4. Hi Blake,
    First off I want to wish you much strength and success in your daily struggles with OCD. I have it too, including scrupulosity, so I know how hard it can be. You mentioned fighting off your religious-based scrupulosity with help from a religious leader. Any nuggets of wisdom you’d like to share on that point?

    • Hi Patrick. Thanks for writing and for the good wishes! First off, it’s important to take care in choosing a religious leader to help. It was helpful for me to find someone who was supportive and helpful, rather than focused on unhealthy fear. My religious leader knows that I have OCD and it is helpful for them to know that. If they don’t know what OCD is it’s helpful to explain it to them or give them information. You want a religious leader to be someone who basically clears up what is religion and what is OCD. That doesn’t always take away the OCD fears, but it makes things clearer. Best wishes, Blake

Leave a Reply

