Eating Potato Chips Off the Therapist’s Floor

Image courtesy of khumthong at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

It’s a Thursday afternoon and I’m sitting cross-legged on our therapist’s office floor, carefully picking baked barbecue potato chip crumbs out of the tight weave of the carpet. I absentmindedly pop a larger piece into my mouth, savor the spiciness of it, and continue my task. My hubby is sitting on the ground close by, leaning against the wall and sipping iced tea. He chuckles quietly when the potato chip passes my lips.

This somewhat absurd scene began when the hubby showed up a few minutes late to our therapy session. He’d stopped for a bite to eat across the street. He still had his drink and his unopened potato chips in his hands.

“Do you mind if I eat my potato chips in your office?” he asked our therapist.

“Potato chips leave a lot of crumbs,” I say, automatically. Then I add, looking at our therapist, whose exposure antics are well known to me, “But maybe you wouldn’t mind that.”

“Oh, that’s right,” he says. “Potato chips can be very useful. May I borrow your bag?” he asks the hubby. “Sometimes I do this with them,” he says, and he empties the entire bag onto the office floor.

I burst out laughing and I glance at the hubby, wondering how he’s going to handle this. This is the man who admonishes me for some of the things I touch with my own patients who have contamination fears. He reaches for a large chip on the floor and pops it into his mouth. Blake says nothing, though I’m sure he places his face in his palms at one point.

Our therapist asks if we’ve ever sat on the floor at a party or gathering. Of course we have. Then he asks if we’ve ever gotten off the floor and gotten a snack and eaten it without washing out hands first. We both have. Blake is still silent. Our therapist explains that people without OCD contamination fears sit on floor and touch it and then go on to eat a snack with those same hands that touched the floor. He reasons that it’s not much different than eating potato chips off the floor. Then he shifts his attention and moves in to talk with Blake.

As Blake and the therapist talk, the hubby and I each bend over occasionally to pick up a chip and eat it. Soon, it becomes cumbersome and, being somewhat irrelevant to the conversation happening in the room, one at a time, we each move to sit on the floor. We take turns eating chips, as the pile grows smaller and smaller. What first seemed silly becomes a normal process to us, until I am left with tiny crumbs that I pick out of the carpet to throw away. I imagine to myself that this might be what it is like to participate in an exposure for OCD – feeling somewhat silly or hesitant at first, then feeling fairly normal. I also wonder if Blake has taken note that mom and dad were willing to be uncomfortable, even for a little bit. If he is, he isn’t showing it. For the time being, he has bigger issues to attend to.

 

3 thoughts on “Eating Potato Chips Off the Therapist’s Floor

  1. Pingback: No one tells him company’s coming use your fork and spoon | SP? OCD? ASD? Just one ME!

Leave a Reply

